Separated by war and racism during the 1940s, the romance of Kazuo Kurokawa, a Japanese immigrant, and Esther Wythe, an African-American woman, is cut short. Both hold the other in their thoughts while they journey through life, one being thrown into the Japanese internment camps then joining a war he does not believe in while the other becomes a freight hopper, leaving a trail of broken hearts in hopes of finding the stability and love she one had with Kazuo. Though they lead separate lives, raise families and learn existing without the other, but are they truly living?

The summary needs work but I don’t need to have my elevator pitch ready until June thank goodness! This is a brief sketch of my novel-in-stories/thesis. I have books on the brain, searching for anything describing the Japanese internment camps, African-Americans during the 1940s and Jazz fiction because I love Jazz fiction. Below is a list of books I intend to read to satisfy the required ten book reading for my program but if any of you out there know of any fabulous novel-in-stories, short story collections, historical fiction novels describing life in the Japanese internment camps or your favorite works of Jazz fiction I would really appreciate the input!

  1. Silent Retreats by Philip Deaver
  2. A Spy in Their Midst: The World War II Struggle of a Japanese-American Hero by Wayne Kiyosaki (spoiler alert for what happens to my Japanese character)
  3. Teach Us to Outgrow Our Madness: Four Short Novels by Oe Kenzaburo
  4. The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende
  5. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
  6. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult
  7. Zoli by Colum McCann
  8. Cooking For Picasso by Camille Aubrey (My break away from research book)
  9. Virginia Woolf and Vanessa Bell by Jane Dunn (My other break away from research book)
  10. A Good Fall by Ha Jin (Because HA JIN)
  11. Where she Went by Kate Walbert

Happy reading and writing everyone!

P.S. I’ve already read Olive Kitteridge and loved it!

